JLF Navigation

April 6, 2018

OFAC Designates Russian Oligarchs, Officials, Entities Following Issuance of CAATSA Report

Today, the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC), in consultation with the U.S. Department of State, designated seven Russian oligarchs and 12 companies they own or control, 17 senior Russian government officials, and a state-owned Russian weapons trading company and its subsidiary, a Russian bank.  The Treasury Department stated that the actions target a number of individuals listed in its CAATSA Section 241 report (released in late January 2018), including those who benefit from the Putin regime and play a key role in advancing Russia’s malign activities.  OFAC concurrently issued General Licenses 12 (“Authorizing Certain Activities Necessary to Maintenance or Wind Down of Operations or Existing Contracts”) and 13 (“Authorizing Certain Transactions Necessary to Divest or Transfer Debt, Equity, or Other Holdings in Certain Blocked Persons”) to minimize immediate disruptions to U.S. persons, partners, and allies, as well as related FAQs.